Subscriptions Frequently Asked Questions

Get access to customer-only benefits

Subscription Basics


What is a subscription?

Everything for sale on our website is purchased as a subscription.

A subscription entitles you to one year of:

  • Specialized support from our team of Happiness Engineers
  • Ongoing updates that include new features, improvements and bug fixes
  • Updates to ensure compatibility with WordPress and/or WooCommerce

Subscriptions are billed annually.

When a subscription renews, you’ll get all of the above for another year.

For purchases made after February 2016, the subscription will be set to automatically renew. For purchases made before February 2016, you will have to enable auto-renew.

How do subscription renewals work?

Subscriptions are renewed automatically. For purchases made after February 2016, auto-renew is enabled by default.

To enable auto-renew for purchases made before February 2016, you’ll need to have a stored payment method. Then, you can enable auto-renew on a per-product basis.

You can enable or disable auto-renew for active subscriptions at any time. If your subscription has expired, you can still go to My Subscriptions and re-activate your subscription.

How much does it cost to renew my subscription?

Subscriptions are billed annually. Coupon codes or other promotional discounts do not apply to renewals.

Do I need a subscription to use my product?

If your subscription lapses, you will still be able to use your product on your site. However, you will not be able to re-download the product, receive updates or get support.

What happens when a subscription expires?

If a subscription expires, you will lose access to the downloadable product, its updates and support.

You can avoid this by making sure your subscription is set to auto-renew prior to the expiration date.

How do I activate my subscription?

To activate a subscription, you will need to connect your store to your WooCommerce.com account on the site(s) where you are using the product.

You may activate and deactivate subscriptions as often as you wish.

If you have renewed a subscription, whether an active subscription or an expired one, there is no need to re-activate as your subscription key will remain the same.

Licenses vs. Subscriptions


 

What’s the difference between a product license and a subscription?

The main difference in terms of how they function is that licenses were purchased manually each year, while subscriptions will be automatically renewed until you chose to cancel.

Other than that, subscriptions work much the the same as licenses, just with different language.

We made this language change to better reflect what we want to provide our customers. Rather than a one-time purchase, we’re working to create an ongoing relationship with our customers, and felt that the term “subscription” better captured our intentions.

What happens to the licenses that were purchased before the switch to subscriptions?

Existing licenses are now active subscriptions, but we have not turned on auto-renew for these. To make sure your subscriptions stay active, please add a payment method and enable auto-renew on your existing subscriptions.

To keep this language consistent, license keys are now simply called “keys,” but all active products will continue to work without needing to connect a new key.

Renewals


 

Are auto-renewals enabled on my purchases?

You can review your renewal settings by visiting the My Subscriptions page in your account.

How do I enable auto-renewals?

For purchases made prior to February 2016, automatic renewals can be enabled by visiting My Subscriptions.

Follow the prompts on this page to add a stored payment method for automatic billing. Once your payment information has been added, you can toggle auto-renewal on from the right side of each product listing.

How do I disable auto-renewals?

To disable automatic renewals for a product, visit the My Subscriptions page and toggle auto-renewal off from the right side of the listing.

Can I enable auto-renewal on one product but not on others?

Yes, you can toggle this on and off as you please per-product, regardless of whether products were purchased as part of the same order.

Will I be notified when it’s time to renew, or when my card is about to be charged?

If you do not have auto-renewal enabled for a product, you will receive emails from us regarding the expiration of each subscription starting two months before your expiration date.

If you do have auto-renewal enabled, you’ll receive emails that your card is about to be charged starting two months before the renewal date.

You will also receive a receipt once your card has been successfully charged.

Do I need to renew free products?

Free products will be automatically renewed to ensure your key continues to work and that you have access to support, updates and the downloadable product. If you only have free products, you do not need to store a payment method for your renewals.

Payment Methods, Upgrades and Transfers


 

Can I have more than one stored payment method?

You can only store one payment method per account.

For developers building sites for clients, we recommend that the client owns the subscriptions through their account.

How Do I Update or Remove my Card?

To update your credit card for your subscription go to your WooThemes My Account dashboard, there you will see the credit card listed which can be replaced or removed.

Can I move a subscription to a different site?

Yes. To do so:

  1. Deactivate the plugin or theme on the initial site.
  2. Deactivate the subscription key from the My Subscriptions page in My Account.
  3. Install the correct file on the new site, enable it in WordPress, and paste in the subscription key in the WooThemes Helper to activate it.

This will enable your subscription on the new site without causing conflicts.

Can I transfer a subscription to my client, coworker, or friend?

To transfer a single site subscription, open a new ticket and choose “My Account” as the reason you’re contacting us. Let us know what you’d like to transfer and where to, and we’ll be in touch.

Multi-site subscriptions can’t be broken up, so we’re unable to transfer one subscription to one client while leaving the remaining four with you. To avoid trouble, we recommend having your client or friend purchase their own subscription.

Can I upgrade a subscription (e.g. from a one subscription pack to five)?

Yes. To do so, copy your active product subscription key from the My Subscriptions page, then click the name of the product to visit the product page. Select the “Upgrading?” option and follow the prompts.

Once upgraded, your card will be charged the difference between the original and upgraded price.